August 23, 2017

Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction

The Walter Scott Prize has been going since 2010 and awards £25,000 to the best historical fiction book published in the preceding year.

Historical fiction is classed as the main story happening more than 60 years ago.

It’s been created by the Duke and Duchess of Buccleuch in honour of Sir Walter Scott who’s credited with creating the historical fiction genre in 1814 with his novel Waverley.

2011 Award

Winner: TBC


  • Andrea Levy – The Long Song
  • Tom McCarthy – C
  • David Mitchell – The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet
  • Joseph O’Connor – Ghost Light
  • C. J. Sansom – Heartstone
  • Andrew Williams – To Kill A Tsar

2010 Awards



  • Adam Thorpe – Hodd
  • Robert Harris – Lustrum
  • Sarah Dunant – Sacred Hearts
  • Iain Pears – Stone’s Fall
  • Simon Mawer – The Glass Room
  • Adam Foulds – The Quickening Maze