August 23, 2017

Man Booker International Prize 2011

Unlike the Man Booker Prize the Man Booker International Prize is only awarded every 2 years.

2011 is the forth time it’s been awarded. It is an award of £60,000 to the author who’s made the greatest achievement in fiction on the world stage. They must either be published in English, or widely available in English and it rewards an authors full body of work – not a specific book.

(There is also an award of £15,000 for the translator of the author into English – awarded at the writers discretion – so if you’re a translator best to keep in with your authors!)

2011 Winner

This year the award has been won by the American author Philip Roth (not someone I’ve ever read so must add him to my list!). He’s the most decorated living American author – so he probably deserves the prize!

2011 Shortlist

  • Wang Anyi
  • Juan Goytisolo
  • James Kelman
  • John le Carré
  • Amin Maalouf
  • David Malouf
  • Dacia Maraini
  • Rohinton Mistry
  • Philip Pullman
  • Marilynne Robinson
  • Su Tong
  • Anne Tyler

Only 1 of these have I ever read – so I guess I need to broaden by reading horizons!!