August 23, 2017

Costa Book Awards

The Costa Book Awards were launched in 1971 by Whitbread, when they were known as the Whitbread Literary Awards (later the Whitbread Book Awards).

It’s a fairly complex book award, in that there are 6 prizes. £5,000 for each winner of the 5 categories below, and a further £30,000 for the overall winner:

  • First novel
  • Novel
  • Biography
  • Poetry
  • Children’s Book

In 2006 they became the Costa Book Awards.

2010 Winners: